top of page

Why I started vaping, why I vape now

Ten years ago I was attending Eastern Oregon University as a psych major. I've always had an interest in technology and gadgets, and the people on campus started showing up with these little batteries that looked like cigarettes, with nicotine cartridges screwed on the bottom. One day a friend let me try hers, and I was astounded! The nicotine rush was like nothing I had experienced before, and I was immediately hooked.

Because it was ten years ago, the industry wasn't as developed as it is now. Google led me to an outfit selling the kr808-d model, and I decided that was right for me. As I sit here writing this, toking on my Tesla Two with a Smok-TF V8 tank I get kind of nostalgic for those days. After a meal in a restaurant you could still whip out your KR808 and enjoy a satisfying vape without offending anyone. In fact, I personally introduced countless waiters and managers to the joys of vaping.

But, I digress. It didn't take long for me to get tired of paying more for a cartridge than a pack of cigarettes costs. See, don't get me wrong. I love smoking. I still smoke about a pack a week. Nothing beats that taste and feel of burning tobacco, not completely. However as I have gotten older and started to realize that I'm not bulletproof anymore, I can't ignore that fact that I feel better when I'm vaping for most of my nicotine consumption. Nicotine itself isn't the terrible life ending drug it's made out to be. It is no more dangerous than caffeine. However the delivery system makes all the difference, and I undeniably started to feel healthier and just all around BETTER when I was vaping.

So that's why I started vaping. Why do I vape now? Well, I wasn't vaping much until my friend moved in with me. I was supporting us both on a meager salary, and rather than support both our habits with cigarettes I introduced her to vaping. She loved it! By then I had learned that buying juice in 30ml bottles was waaaaay cheaper than buying those silly little cartridges, and when she took to vaping like fish to water we started expanding our knowledge on the topic. At the time we were still using cigarette shaped batteries, albeit the larger, more powerful EGO-C series. I was satisfied with this, but my friend was not. After a while she purchased my Tesla Two as a gift, and I haven't gone back to stick vapes. The Tesla Two is an exceptional rig, but I'll post about that later. I vape now largely because of the passion of my friend, who is also the Head Juice Chef at our vape store. She won't go outside with me to smoke, but she will sit inside with me and vape. My body feels healthier and stronger than it has in years, and I attribute that directly to my stopping the onslaught of destruction I was visiting on it by smoking more than a pack a day.

Vaping for me is about more than getting my fix. When I open a new bottle of juice that my friend has hand crafted and painstakingly refined the recipe I feel a special connection with her, and all vapers. The muggles don't understand, they tease us for our giant boxes and massive clouds, saying "we get it, you vape!"

Yes, I get it too. I vape. For life.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page